

2021-2022 ANNUAL REPORT

• LACUNY has been a slice of home away from work. It is a professional organization comprised of members throughout all CUNY campuses. The past year I aimed to expand the membership to include more than just CUNY librarians but to include any CUNY library worker, whether part time or full time. Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, LACUNY meetings have been widely virtual, creating an unprecedented opportunity to reach across the boroughs for meetings without the hassle of commuting. LACUNY continues to grow as we all do and I am honored to have served as President this past year.

Jeffrey Delgado- President 2021-2022

## TREASURER'S REPORT

### **LACUNY FINANCES**

- Total Finances= \$29,707.69
  - 2021-\$25,944.36
    - Finances were mainly used for resubscribing to Wild Apricot, Urban Library Journal stipends, and honorariums for Roundtable events.

#### LACUNY MEMBERSHIP

Membership Level	# of Members
Associate	63
Full	286
Lifetime Member	3
Scholarship Fund	2

### 2021-2022 EXECUTIVE COUNCIL

- Officers: Jeffrey Delgado (President), Nelson Santana (Vice President/President Elect, Matthew Dineiro (Treasurer), Nandi Prince (Secretary)
- Delegates & Alternates\*: Charles Terng, Joseph Harnett\* (Baruch), Rebecca Hyams (BMCC), Jacob Adler (BCC), Colleen Bradley-Sanders, Lee Ann Fullington\* (BC), Sarah B. Cohn, Trevar Riley-Reid\* (CC), Keith Muchowski, Cailean Cooney\* (NYCCT), Anne Hayes, Maureen Garvey\* (CSI), Mason Brown, Melissa Longhi\* (GC), Alexandra Hamlett (Guttman), A.J. Pathak, Jennifer Newman\* (Hunter), Miriam Laskin, William Casari\* (Hostos), Kate Cauley, Patrick Raftery\* (JJ), Julie Turley, Mark Eaton\* (KBCC), Derek Stadler, Alex Rojas\* (LGCC), Martha Lerski (LE), Eric Pellerin (ME), Neera Mohess (QCC), Leila Walker, Annie Tummino\* (QC), Tinamarie Vella, Barbara Gray (Journalism), Kathy Williams (Law), Stefka Tzanova, Meredith Powers\* (YC), Megan Wacha (OLS)

## 2021-2022 EXECUTIVE COUNCIL HIGHLIGHTS

- Reworked the Constitution and Bylaws to include:
  - Permanent stipend for Urban Library Journal Editors
  - Jay Bernstein Scholarship Award
  - More inclusive language toward library staff and library students.
- Re-established 501c(3) Status!!- Recognized as a Non-Profit Organization
- LACUNY: Conversation w/ Professor Gibbons, 2022 Recipient of I Love My Librarian Award- Recording Available on LACUNY website.

## LACUNY PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE AWARDS

- Travel Grant Winners
  - The Professional Development Travel
    Grant process is competitive and
    applications are blind-reviewed.
    LACUNY PDC Travel Grant winners
    each receive \$600. Due to the
    Pandemic, Travel Grants were put on
    hiatus for the Fall but we do have
    Spring Winners
- Spring 2022 Awardees:
  - Madeline Ruggiero, Queensborough
     Community College
    - Title of Conference/Event: The Teaching Professor Conference
    - LACUNY PDC Travel Grant Award: \$600
  - Lane Glisson, Borough of Manhattan Community College
    - Title of Conference/Event: Northeast Modern Language Association (NeMLA) Convention

LACUNY PDC Travel Grant Award: \$600

- Junior Tidal, City Tech
  - Title of Conference/ Event: ARLIS/NA
  - LACUNY PDC Travel Grant Award: \$600

## LACUNY PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE AWARDS

- Jay Bernstein Memorial Scholarship
  - The Jay Bernstein Memorial Scholarship is an annual award given in honor of the late Jay Bernstein. The recipient receives a year of LACUNY membership as well as waived registration fees to the next LACUNY Institute
  - 2022 Awardee: Junli Diao, York College

# LACUNY PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE AWARDS

- Dália Leonardo Library School Scholarship:
  - This is an annual award in remembrance of the late Dália Leonardo. The award provides a \$750 stipend to currently enrolled MLS students, as well as a sponsored membership to LACUNY for a year.
  - Awardees:
    - Oscar Zamora Flores- Queens College Graduate School of Library Information Studies
    - Andrea Dorothea Espinoza- Queens College Graduate School of Library Information Studies

## LACUNY INSTITUTE 2022

#### **Planning Committee**

- Co-Chairs
  - Nora Almeida, New York City College of Technology,
     Wanett Clyde, New York City College of Technology
  - Built to Exclude: Confronting Issues of Equity and Otherness in Libraries
    - Over 300 Registrants!
    - 73 participants in one session!

#### **Committee Members**

Matthew Dinero, City College
 Dianne Gordon Conyers, LaGuardia Community
 College
 Iris Finkel, Hunter College
 Kel Karpinski, New York City College of Technology
 Nanette Johnson, New York City College of
 Technology
 Linda Miles, Hostos Community College
 Ajatshatru Pathak, Hunter College
 Mark Aaron Polger, College of Staten Island

Alexandra Rojas, LaGuardia Community College

Nelson Santana, Bronx Community College

Julie Turley, Kingsborough Community College

### URBAN LIBRARY JOURNAL

Urban Library Journal is seeking submissions on a rolling basis. ULJ invites scholarly submissions that speak to urban librarianship as it relates to topics in urban studies, higher education (with emphasis on public higher education), public and academic library collaboration, community outreach and programming, social justice, critical race studies, gender and work, sexuality and identity within librarianship, technology and privacy issues, or other topics. Please contact the editors with general questions or recommendations for columns and special issues.



phttps://academicworks.cuny.edu/ulj/

### LOOKING AHEAD...

 2022-2023 Officers: Nelson Santana (President); Derek Stadler (vice President/ President elect); Matthew Dineiro (Treasurer); Nandi Prince (Secretary)

Congratulations!

## JOIN LACUNY

• LACUNY Membership spans from July 1st to June 29th of each year.

Remember to join or renew your membership in order to benefit from LACUNY programing, and so LACUNY can benefit from your involvement.